There are eight recognized species of bear:

  • Brown and Grizzly Bears (Ursus arctos)
  • American Black Bears (Ursus americanus)
  • Polar Bears (Ursus maritimus)
  • Asiatic Black bears (Ursus thibetanus)
  • Giant Pandas (Ailuropoda melanoleuca)
  • Spectacled Bears (Tremarctos ornatus)
  • Sloth Bears (Melursus ursinus)
  • Sun Bears (Helarctos malayanus)

Diet varies among the species; bears range from almost exclusively carnivorous (the Polar Bear) to almost entirely herbivorous (the Panda Bear.)

Science has yet to answer the question of whether bears, given the opportunity, enjoy porridge, but I am certain they do.

Panda Bears, contrary to the plot of In Pursuit of Porridge, do not actually hibernate, but I am also convinced they would if only their beds were more comfortable.

For lots of information about bears, check out The Bear Den or for facts about Panda Bears in particular, try Pandas Pandas & More Pandas.

contact once upon a theatre